Archive for July 15th, 2008

15
Jul
08

Peanut

Ok so it has been far too long since I have posted anything. There is a reason for this. I have been swamped at work and I am now the sole keeper of the house. This in turn means I no longer get to sleep or relax.

It began a little over a week ago. Morning sickness had begun. Well morning sickness is all day sickness. It is also complimented by some exciting others, such as constipation and headaches. This is not true for everyone, but for Cindy the worse has come true.

Warning men, if your wife tells you she is pregnant and then says she begins to feel sick, check her into a spa for the next six weeks. You will very quickly become the cleaner, cooker, house worker, grocery getter, feet rubber, complaint listener, and any other job that needs to be done. You will have no help because your significant other will be moaning her day away, in what seems like the most uncomfortable pain, all day.

Seriously I am not saying that Cindy doesn’t has it rough, and I know if she could trade doing some chores for not feeling sick, she most definitely would. It is just the most frustrating time I have ever spent with someone. It absolutely brings down your confidence and tears at you. You don’t want to see you wife lying around moaning in pain. It hurts to see her hurting. It also never ends. I try so hard to keep a positive feeling going but it’s hard when it’s such a negative energy in the house. Another little warning men, you will get no sympathy from anyone. It is your duty to uphold the fabric of men everywhere and take the stress filled situation that is now your life. Alright so if you don’t work from home like I do, I guess you have to deal with it much less, but it will still suck once you get home.

I have also learned that anger usually accompanies misery. I get yelled at, at least a hundred times a day. These comments add even more to the frustration. All in all I am complaining a lot and I would do anything for my wife, but I cannot wait till the first trimester is over.

One absolutely bitter sweet thing that has occurred is we have been eating all the foods I am usually not allowed to eat. Since Cindy will only eat certain things, we have been eating basically crappy unbelievably tasty food. I love it but my waist line is beginning to hate it. Oh and that’s another thing there is no working out when you’re dealing with a morning sick wife, there is just no time. So that adds to the growing gut.

There has been some good news, and I wanted to end with some good news. The purpose of sneaking away for five minutes to write something down was to say we got the official thumbs up. I went with Cindy to the doctor for her ultra sound. Low and behold there it was our peanut. Well that’s what the doctor referred to it as. So the kid will officially be known as peanut their entire life. It was really awe inspiring to see this little nut shaped orb on a blurry screen, but what really takes your breath away is when they point out the heart beat. It’s a pixel size flicker on a screen. It microscopic but has the power to make a grown man soft and get very emotional. I would say I have been through hell lately, but that little heart is why, and that keeps you going, I am sure that’s what keeps Cindy going, in her terrible shape. The situation is bigger than me and the chores, the running around, it’s about my future child. I think I will try and keep that in mind when it seems like Cindy just can’t take it anymore or I get another sleepless night. When things are at their worst, there is always a good reason for them, and we will get through. I can’t however wait till this part is over.




July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031